Walkabout

What an enjoyable evening I had last night at the concert by Phil Cunningham and Andy Bain. I’m so glad I made the effort to go.
The ‘warm up’ band was the Hullion, a 5 piece band whose fiddler was Andy Cant whom I last saw 45 years ago when he was a student staying in Edinburgh’s Pollock Halls where I was the warden’s wife. I had no idea he played the fiddle as well as the pipes.

Interspersed with music there was a lot of banter between Phil and Aly and despite not seeing one familiar face in the hall, it didn’t feel strange to be there on my own.

I found it a bit of an effort to get up and out this morning for the early morning swim, but it left plenty of time later to have a coffee and a read of the Metro online in the Library.

The sun came out at lunch time and I took my ankle on one of my favourite walks round the town behind Brinkies Brae. It is so good to get away from anything and anybody just for a short time, plus the fact that earlier in the year I wouldn’t have believed I would be able to walk the distances I have this holiday.

I’m having a late afternoon enjoying the sunshine again in the garden by the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.