Sunrise at the Autumn Equinox

I had a long lie this morning, the first this holiday. It must have been all of 8:30am before I put a foot outside the covers to have breakfast while the sun streamed through the window.

There were about 10 Selkies swimming this morning. We are aware that this mild weather with a sea temperature of 13° and a gentle wind is all too soon going to end. Then, swimming in sea temperatures of 7° or less and cold winds whipping round our bodies when we dress will be the challenge. But not today with the sun shining and the sea calm, it was a joy.

I had a glorious walk this afternoon round by the yacht marina to Copelands Dock on the other side of Hamnavoe. It was completely deserted, just me and my thoughts. I had thought to go to Kirkwall this afternoon but am so glad I chose this alternative. There is a Blues Festival in Stromness this weekend but no one had thought to go for a quiet walk way from the town.

I am going to try and get a fish supper tonight for Erlend and myself. The Peedie Chippie van comes to the harbour at 4pm. I’ll be there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.