I love foliage

as much, if not more then flowers, this Hypericum always gets my attention at Mum's, it's growing on the path up to her side gate where I've been busy gardening today. My plan was to garden at Mum's this morning then visit hubby this afternoon. A phonecall from hubby changed my plan. Sickness & diarrhea in the ward, so no visitors allowed today. 3 new patients in the ward yesterday, s&d in the ward then as I wanted to pull the curtain back to make it less stuffy but was told to pull it over again. Hubby's not in great shape, difficulty sleeping for a combination of reasons, he has'nt been encouraged to get out of bed once, or wash/shave. :-( Today his back is hurting, he had a big spinal fusion op back in the late 80's, which fortunately has not given him any problems until recently. Some mobility, or stretching would help, so I told him to ask if he can at least be helped out of bed to perhaps sit I a chair.
I achieved a lot at Mum's. A complete lattice fence is now devoid of woody overgrown honeysuckle, ready for a coat of creosote, before planting deciduous clematis hybrids that Mum has accumulated, growing in pots (not ideal), plus an evergreen of some kind. We have time as I've zapped bramble & periwinkle with weedkiller. Mum worked with me filling the green garden waste bin. We had plenty to chat & laugh about, 5 buzzard soaring overhead at one point, the beauty of living on the edge of the heath.
I nipped to the library on the way home to print off a couple of preserve recipes sent to me by Anne. Recipes she has tested & recommended.
Rang hubby once home, he sounded really drowsy. :-( I hope a bed becomes available in Newton Abbot hospital soon, he needs to get mobile.

Thank you for your comments & good wishes. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.