Down By The Riverside

Ann went out this morning to join Emma and Raffy at a play session.  I stayed at home and waited for a courier to collect our troublesome chairs.  I also fitted a new doorbell as the old one was kaput.  The hardest part was choosing the bell-tone from 52 available noises.  I was bored by the time I reached Clementine so that's the tone!

After lunch I went out for a walk by the river whilst Ann took over waiting duties.  I walked to Diglis footbridge and over to the far side.  From there it is possible to walk either back to the town centre or out into the countryside,  I did neither, just crossing back across the bridge and back towards Diglis and home.  

As I was walking I crossed another footbridge over an inlet from the river that leads to the Diglis Oil Basin.  In the industrial days of yore there used to be an oil terminal here and the boats would use this area for loading and unloading.  When the terminal was dismantled along with the rest of the paraphernalia the Oil Basin remained and still remains, though never apparently used.  A difficult subject to make an interesting picture, so I was pleased when a swan decided on a quick visit.  If it had been Saturday rather than Friday I would have labelled this for Silly Saturday!

As it was, the courier arrived and collected the box of chairs so Ann met me along the way home and we headed to GoodRoots for a well deserved cup of coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.