The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Two pretty mugs

Bone china, Dunoon ceramics, £2 each on the cats protection stall. Of course I bought them! Did I need them? No, but as my elder sister TML says, they will make good Christmas presents.

TML is helping our mother sort out ghastly muddles of paperwork prior to moving house. Our mother is prone to keeping unnecessary paperwork long past its expiry date. I feel bad that I'm not there too, but I am trying to wind up my market stall, go almost full time in my.job from October, and have organised a funeral tea for next week. And a colleague is on holiday so it really wouldn't be helpful for me to go off too.

Readers of my journals from the summers of 2013 and 2015 will remember other ghastly muddles involving our mother and her housing. Or last Christmas, even...

Today was my last ever Friday in the market. I took about half of what I used to call my target for Fridays. Nowadays we are grateful just to see a customer, and if they throw coins at us, then so much the better. It was dreadfully quiet. Vegan Lisa wasn't there for the banter, either. Afterwards, I walked around town, looking for a winter coat. Couldn't find one I liked in the charity shops. Anything woollen will get eaten by moths. In the end I came home, had a sleep in the cabin, then ordered a new padded one I found in a sale on page 97 of a well known clothing website. I have a similar one already in a horrid colour. Steve and I reckon I should keep that one for wearing around the house when it's really cold. I just had a word with the ultilities company last week and asked them to DOUBLE our monthly payments for electricity, so that I don't fall behind with it. Scary times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.