Hearthmother

By Hearthmother

Circle of friends

First post! Woooo!

And a timely post at that, for today is my birthday.

BUT. WAIT. OK. HOLD THE PHONE.

Birthdays have been a somewhat stressful event for me. As a child I always would worry if people would choose me/my party. Being a September baby I share my birthday or at least the weekend of, with a lot of other people. Honestly, mums and dads, there are other times of the year for business time. Seriously, Christmas/New years can’t be the only time.

Anyway, in my teens my birthday was again plagued by whether anyone would show up or if my crappy boyfriend at the time would dictate who could or couldn’t come. (Or start a drunken brawl for some testosterone fuelled reason).

My 30th birthday I was busy breast feeding my weeks old daughter and worrying about an infected vulva. Shout-out to childbirth for being so bloody traumatic. However, to date, she is and always will be the best early birthday present ever.

But. And. However.

I have, in the last few years, made an amazing group of friends. This year, the eccentric mother hen of our group decided she would combine a group hangout with my birthday and host a pot luck afternoon tea (children invited also). Not only is the effort so refreshing and kind but the energy shared between us as we ate and exchanged stories, so.damn.wholesome.
Side note: she also made cob loaf which is one of my favourite things of all time. I’m now sporting a food baby.

One of my gifts (yes they even gave me cards and gifts because they are so thoughtful) was a little statue of a circle of friends.
There was a little note which I shall leave you with and to seal the day.

Legend says: At the end of the evening, friends would gather around a bonfire and share their hearts and speak of the good qualities of each other and remember times shared. As the embers faded, their friendship was said to be sealed anew bringing them closer together. As you sit with the candle lit in the middle of your circle of friends, it will surround and embrace all who sit with you and bring good luck to those who stay together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.