Hearthmother

By Hearthmother

Daily reminder

Ugh.

It’s probably the most accurate word or sound to describe this morning.

Woke up late
Unwashed hair
Untamed eyebrows
Forgot my wallet

But that was just the beginning. I know what you’re thinking “she’s going to tell us how much worse it got”. Well you’re wrong. It didn’t. It got better, so much better.

Past me was a genius and set up Apple Pay on my phone. However, I had never used it. I began to panic. “I have to use a NEW technology that I’ve never used before, while in a line, with people, it could go horribly wrong!”
Of course, I realised this must be how other people feel when I tell them they will have to use a new technology at work or an upgraded version. Perhaps I could use my own change methodologies on myself? Lol nope. I just took a deep breath and sucked it up, cupcake.
Coffee sorted.
Get to the office and my dear friends were in, YES. The day is getting better.
THEN my dear friend offers me baked goods, I chose an almond croissant, which quite frankly at that point was saving me from the brink of starvation. Yum.

Pretty sure I had pastry on my face most of the day.

BUT. OK. WAIT.

The roller coaster begins. I have an issue to solve and it’s not going my way. I have many different methods to try but my dear friend wants me to STOP and bring it right back and catalogue so many things…. WHAT?! I don’t have time or patience for these things but I humoured him anyway. It was awful, here he is giving me perfectly logical explanations for his method, meanwhile I’m trying to run before I can walk and solve everything (just the usual).

(Side note the catalogue was and is a great idea).

Many side quests later and I have a solution (my original one) which I begun and didn’t finish because my day was filled with bullsh*t, quick wins and hilarious conversations with my buddies.

Where was my husband through all this? (We work for the same organisation AND in the same office). He was at the swimming pools with our darling daughter because the nanny broke a tooth and had to go to dental surgeon. Probably should have led with that but when have I ever followed the rules? (Never) and will I ever? (No).

So, my day started out like it was going to be abysmal but it was made better by friends. When I got home my daughter SCREAMED with delight and began rambling about her day (she’s 2 so only half of it makes sense). I asked if she would like to go for a walk, the majority of which was RUNNING LIKE A MAD PERSON FOR NO REASON, because she’s a little crazy and excitable and I’m here for it. On our way home again we stopped to admire the trees, different leaves and flowers, sat in the grass, watched a plane fly over and just ….. breathed. Fresh air, sun shining on our skin.

So while my day may have been average, my friends cheered me up and stayed the course, my daughter gave me my daily reminder that everything else doesn’t really matter as long as you have someone to sit with, drink pretend tea and marvel at the patterns on some leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.