Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Beached

It's getting towards my favourite time of year for walking on the marshes and beach at Cley.  Still warmth in the sun but getting breezy across the marsh. We watched a Kestrel that kept pace with us and kept perching and hovering nearby, and we saw a small animal have a lucky escape from it.  The heron in the extra looked up long enough as I approached to get its profile in the shot.  I disturbed a Kingfisher which then flew off down a muddy creek with flashes of colour, but too quickly for me to get a shot.  We saw Curlews and heard their beautiful cry, and as we got back to the car we got to within ten feet of a Sparrowhawk which was perched on a nearby fence.

The tide was out so the beach was wide, and although lots of people were out walking it didn't feel at all crowded.  We finished our walk with a bacon sandwich in the open air at Blakeney harbour; a perfect morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.