In Memoriam

We were invited to a gathering and lunch at the local church in memory of a popular village pharmacist who died six years ago. Dee came to the UK from Uganda in the 80s. His daughter told us of the charity work that his family carries out in Gujarat. They feed the needy and look after stray dogs and rejected cows. The man in my image is a personable Hindu priest. He addressed us in his native language but was adept with tech, live streaming the proceedings. MrQ fell asleep, thankfully didn't snore and awoke when the clapping started. It was nice to meet old friends from the village. The home-cooked potato curry, rice and yoghurt was delicious. 

PS I asked if I could photograph the orange fabric draped, orange box of Hindu gods which had been placed on the altar. I noticed that the priest was wearing orange and it so happened that my chair, which I photographed my lunch on, was orange. I knew that orange is a special colour to Hindus and have since educated myself. The colour is known as saffron as saffron pistils are orange. It is the most sacred colour in Hinduism. It represents fire, therefore purity and is worn by holy men.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.