Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Poppy Seeds

This afternoon The Man and I went to do some tidying up of The Late Mate's garden. Although soon after he died, a professional gardener came and really knocked things back, the months have brought lots of new growth, most of it unwanted.

The sawn-off Kilmarnock willow was now sending out 5' high branches from its goat willow rootstock. The sawn-off buddleia was trying just as hard, brambles had sprung up again and the gravel was covered in weeds and wild poppies.

The Man saw to the tougher stuff while I collected ripened seed heads from the poppies. I left the green ones to ripen in their own time. I want to sow these in our wildflower garden at the lodge. When I told The LM's D-I-L what I was doing, she asked if I could also keep some for her to try and grow. These are lovely deep pink and black single poppies that will look similar to wild ones. I regard them as wild, anyhow, as they were never planted.

The Man also cut down the everlasting sweet peas which had finished flowering. They filled the back of the Volvo estate so driving home via the tip was required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.