Rosalind

Camera club this evening was perfect for today's Mono Monday challenge -  create a portrait in which lighting is crucial to bringing out, for example, a mood, an emotion or drama. We had a practical studio evening, with a recap on studio lighting, and then an opportunity to take photos of a model, Rosalind.

There was a lot of good stuff about how to interact with a model, or any portrait subject for that matter. It was really interesting to hear Ros's views about what makes a photo session successful, or not.

We all had a short one to one session to begin with. I was a bit disappointed with those images. It was the first time I had worked with a proper studio flash set up, and I thought the lighting was too harsh, and the use of a reflector made it too even, not the moody effect I was after. It was good experience though and I will have a better idea of how to use lighting creatively next time.

Later on we had a free for all session where she went through a whole range of poses, with fixed studio lighting. I got about 60 images in total and after a quick review I think this one is my favourite.

The rest of the day was very photographic in nature too. I have done a lot of 35mm negative scanning. When I went to my friend's 70th last week I said I would see if I could sort out some old photos from his wedding. I did find a few, but I also found an old self timer selfie, me sitting in my bedsit looking suitably pensive, probably from the late 70s, Jimi Hendrix, Marilyn Monroe and John Lennon posters on the wall. I did think about having it as a back up for today in case I didn't get anything this evening, but I will spare you that now.

Update: since loads two of you have asked to see the film selfie I have attached it as an extra. It's not very good, I might have built it up too much :-)

One year ago:
Hare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.