Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Missed chances ...

Goodness, it was chilly today! Going out to Pilates in the morning, I had thought of changing my leggings to the rather more substantial ones I wore last winter, but was seduced by the sunshine, and lack of rain, into wearing the shorter, thinner pair - and I was frozen. Frozen not only walking along the lane, and from the car park to the studio, but frozen for most of the class; I was the last one to take off my jersey and had no sooner committed myself to this rashness than people were asking for the air-con to be switched on as they were now too hot. I think I must be from a different planet.

The photo above was taken on a walk along the old road at Benmore - a stretch of about a mile which was made redundant when the current line of road was followed. Halfway along it used to hang a sign saying "forest for sale" and we used to joke about what we could do with a forest. Well, this is what you do - you have the ground cleared, the trees felled, the route of the burn suddenly laid bare. You put down hardcore - and you plan to build one, or maybe two houses, or at least buildings of some sort. We've not walked along this road since before Covid, mainly because the forestry commission blocked off the car park to stop people using it. It is much changed. 

When we returned to our car, which we'd left in the Benmore Gardens car park, we were delighted to find a robin perched on our wing mirror. It came right up to us, presumably looking for food which we didn't have. (extra)

And finally ... when I went to the chemist's today to pick up a regular prescription, I was told that they no longer do repeat orders by themselves, but have to wait for the surgery to send round a prescription. Explains much about my recent frustrations; means that yet another amenity has bitten the dust. 

It's as well the sun was shining ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.