Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Back Off!

I think I take a shot like this every year - I can't seem to resist.  On cold mornings when the bees aren't quite ready to fly, they will try to fend off predators by raising their forelegs.  It's ridiculously cute, and I imagine totally ineffective as a defense strategy.  But still...  I found several worker bees who'd spent the night in the asters and were waiting for the sun to warm them up.  The New England Asters and the goldenrod are the last things to bloom in the fall, a sure sign that winter is around the corner.

For those who are following the addition of Hammerhead (the Shark robotic vacuum) to our house, here's the update.  The humans are very happy with the job Hammie does.  Jax spent considerable time following Hammie around, quickly leaping out of the way when Hammie got too close.  Eventually, Jax realized that 1) Hammie is harmless, 2) it's not after his food, 3) it's not after his toys and 4) it isn't any competition for a lap.  So now he is ignoring it.  The cats, on the other hand, know that Hammerhead is dangerous and to be avoided at all costs.  An immediate and quick retreat to the safety of the upstairs (little do they know Hammie will soon be working upstairs too).  Eventually Charlie came cautiously back down and watched Hammie from a safe distance of about 20 feet, and close to the stairs for a fast exit.  As for me, I thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the sofa while the house was being vacuumed!

Jax and I have been for a walk already - lots of things to smell today.  A little later I will take him to the pet store to get some cat food and maybe even some dog treats.  He'll have his fill of sniffing up and down every aisle which will hopefully wear him out.  

I'm putting a shot in Extra that isn't my usual fare but one that I like - it's a simple milkweed seed pod that was just starting to open.  I'm sending some seeds off to one of my blip friends in Florida for her pollinator garden.  I have a bounty of seeds from my swamp milkweed this year so will also be scattering some in one of my gardens and giving away the rest.  

I think dark, plain and simple, today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.