Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

So Long...

When I left the house this morning to meet a friend for a chilly walk on the marsh, this female and another hummingbird were in the garden.  She was perched on a lichen-covered branch that has been her favorite these last few days.  I took a few picture because I figured she'd leave today ... and I believe she did as I've not see her since I got back.  Just the same, I refilled a feeder.  It's possible that other youngsters will be coming through as I'm sure they all got stalled with the recent bad weather.  The next few days are clear sailing - or flying, if you're a tiny hummingbird headed for tropical weather. 

This time of year is always just a bit melancholy for me as the hummingbirds are mostly gone, as are the big social wasps and most of the summer birds.  Bees are winding down and caterpillars are one the move... winter is coming.  

My friend and I had a really enjoyable walk in the marsh even though it was quite chilly and foggy when we set out.  It's just a bit too early for the winter ducks although we did see a few teal and skeins of geese.  We also saw a young red-tailed hawk chasing and harassing a juvenile bald eagle which was a surprise.  And then what we think was a Cooper's hawk dive-bombed a much larger Northern Harrier that was hunting in the grass.  Odd to see so much aggressive behavior at this time of the year.  

I had a little nap when I got home and then Jax and I took a short walk.  We need to let the cement for the fence posts cure another day before we can close the gates and let him play in the yard.  Make no mistake, he will be completely unwilling to play out there by himself, but we think he'll enjoy playing fetch if his humans are with him.  And I already feel better snooping around the garden and not worrying that I will turn around and find a bear behind me.  

I need to get my flights to SA nailed down tomorrow.  I think I may end up flying through Capetown but I will have one more look.  

A little plain dark went down well this afternoon.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.