Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Raptorial Legs

I took advantage of a cool morning to photograph Miss Thing's fearsome looking forelegs which are, appropriately, called "raptorial legs".  These legs are most commonly associated with mantids although there are a few other genus that have them such as waterbeds and mantidflies.  They are specifically used to grab prey and hold it while dispatching it.  And as you can see from the way the "spikes" are arranged, once this creature has prey in its grasp, it is unlikely that the prey will escape.  

Miss Thing (a Chinese Praying Mantis) has been wandering around a patch of milkweed all day.  I suspect she is getting ready to drop create an ootheca in which she will leave eggs.  I have read that a single female may produce several oothecae from a single breeding.  

Much to my surprise (and joy), both hummingbirds are still around today.  We have another weather system rolling in so I would not be surprised if they both sit tight for a few more days.  I think this is probably the latest I've had hummers in the garden.  

Jax is at daycare again today and, based on the photos they've been posting, he's having a wonderful time.  I've mentioned before that they curate the play time and groups are 2-3 dogs usually, always supervised.  I like this as I know the staff would be quick to pick up on any signs of aggression or stress before things escalate.  I would like all of Jax's dog interactions to remain positive.  He's a happy dog but he does have a few fear triggers from his time in a shelter.   

Hubs is going to pick up his "new" race care tomorrow.  I'm very excited for him and am so glad he finally decided to go ahead with this.  I hope that he will be able to race for many years, but I don't want him to wait.  He got in touch with the racing organization to have his license reactivated and now he just needs to get the car inspected and select a number he will race under.  The car is basically race-ready so I am hoping he can get it out on the track for a test day before everything shuts down for winter.  

I finally got my flights booked for SA.  What an ordeal!  The official photography trip starts on 27 March but I will need to fly out of Newark on the 23rd.  I will have an overnight in Johannesburg (in transit) and then 2 nights in Durban.  Which won't be a bad thing as it will hopefully allow my body to catch up with itself.  I am hoping that there is a transit hotel in the J'burg airport as that would make things easier.  Coming home will be somewhat easier although involves a 7 hour layover in J'burg.  Oh well.  I will have a gazillion images to sort through so not like I won't have things to do.

I spent some time in the garden this morning cutting back some of the milkweed by the house and doing some general tidying up.  It is drizzling out now so I am parked on the sofa with Mac in hand.  Plenty to do!

Dark with peppermint today (stomach still unsettled because of the RA meds - nothing serious, just annoying.). Pain low to moderate - again, mostly annoying.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.