Living my dream

By Mima

Hysterical

I have six hens, each of whom lays an egg a day. About every 10 days somebody has a day off. I collect the eggs every day in the early afternoon.

When I opened the nest box after lunch today I did a double take. Indeed, a triple and quadruple take.

8 eggs?

I counted them several times, telling myself it isn’t possible to have eight eggs from six hens, but each count confirmed that the impossible had apparently happened.

So then I counted the hens a few times, in case a couple of strangers had been added to the flock. Each count confirmed the status quo: there were the usual culprits and no interlopers.

By this point I was weeping with laughter and confusion. I’m still shaking my head with bewilderment.

To add to the general hysteria is the fact that I was drowning in eggs before today’s clutch. The hens are not exactly helping me get on top of the eggcess.

I really hope there are only four eggs tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.