Living my dream

By Mima

Edges

There is frost fleece over the strawberry plants, not to protect them from frost but from blackbirds because I’ve run out of bird netting. Each morning the edges of the leaves have gathered moisture and stuck to the fleece, creating intriguing patterns such as these.

An update on the chaffinch chicks: they are no longer in the nest. The last morning I spotted them they were literally bursting out over the sides, so I think they will have fledged very soon after that sighting. There’s no sign of them, or of their parents in the orchard now.

Another update, following yesterday’s perplexing bumper haul of eggs: I expected four eggs from the six hens today. And….




….there were six!

I hope the chooks don’t explode from over-activity. They are showing no signs of stress or exhaustion at all, and are happily scratching around in their run as I type.

Also as I type, the Beanbag Nail Bar is open: there are slightly unpleasant grinding and crunching sounds coming from under a blanket at the other end of the sofa. The things I have to put up with…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.