Living my dream

By Mima

For Kentboy

Here, especially for Kentboy, is a Beanblip.

“I love you Mima, but only if you feed me soon…”

I ended up in town this morning, having decided overnight to go and buy Waratahs (aka star pickets in Australia, Y-posts elsewhere) and bird netting so that I can gradually get the chook run extension constructed over the weekend.

This gives the current three hens a week to get used to having additional space. And it will provide plenty of room for me to keep those three girls in that half of the run, while keeping the six new girls in the other half.

Initially I intended to bung them all together from the start, but the older three are pretty boisterous and pull each others feathers out periodically. I really don’t want them to do that to the newbies, who will not be quite adult when they arrive. 

Once everybody is fully grown and laying properly I’ll consider combining the two flocks…i.e. once the six new chooks can stand up for themselves.

As I was in Oamaru I decided to make various stops which should mean I don’t need to go there at all next week. 

And I called in on the Lovely Macdubs for a cuppa. As usual Bean made herself at home while the humans put the world to rights.

Since getting home I’ve been working in the sunshine while watching storms tracking east of us…slap bang over Oamaru I suspect. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.