Living my dream

By Mima

Work in progress

The extension to the hen run is half-constructed. I did a bit of line trimming to clear the fence-line, then whacked in nine Waratahs today, before attached the wire netting. Finally I laid heavy old posts along the bottom of the fence to weigh it down and prevent hen-escapes. 

That was enough for the day. It was blowing a hoolie all day and it sapped my energy. I will get the bird netting out tomorrow, when it’s due to be calmer, and cover the top - taking care to leave no hen-sized holes around the apple tree half way up the fence.

The existing hen run is on the right. At the bottom right is the wooden slatted door which I shall open when it’s completed and let the girls roam into their new ‘room’.

It will only be about 1m headroom, purely for ease and speed of construction. But obviously at that height, the netting over the top is essential. 

The hens have plenty of opportunities to clamber and climb in the area of the existing run that they will still have access to. When I make a permanent larger run for the chooks next winter the fencing will be 2.5m tall, which I hope will be high enough to deter aerial escapes. 

The supervisor is in the extra. She’s checking the quality of the line trimmed grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.