Living my dream

By Mima

Cheesieversary

Exactly one year ago I made my first cheese. What an adventure I’ve been on since then, learning new skills and gradually expanding my repertoire. 

I’ve made about 50 cheeses now and while I’ve experimented with all sorts of varieties, I have yet to try a blue. That is my ambition for this coming summer, when the blue bacteria will do their thing in the warmer temperatures. 

My ultimate goal is a Stilton: when I’ve successfully made one I will call myself a cheese-maker.

Today’s cheeses are a couple of Camemberts, which are still draining in their hoops. 

Between various steps in the cheese process I have been completing the hen run extension. The extra shows it done: fully covered and secure. It was fiddly work to tie the netting roof to the wire netting fence, during gale force gusts of wind. I found myself wrapped up in netting a couple of times at the start. 

I finished it too late to let the chooks in to explore, so I’ll open the door for them tomorrow morning after I’ve collected the eggs. I hope it passes muster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.