Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

A New Slicer for the workbench

I recently returned from the National Narrow Gauge Convention in Tacoma WA, USA.  Excellent convention and some of the best model railroads in the US on stage.  Also a large room full of venders.  One of them, Ultimation, (www.ultimation.ca) was selling a very neat sanding wheel, and a new slicer - perfect for strip wood (think scratch-building)

I bought a Slicer and just mounted it on a scrap of wood.  This thing is built like a brick outhouse.  No chinchy plastic.  The blade is easily replaced and is VERY sharp.   Blades - available from Ultimation as well as bigbox stores.

What sold me on this piece of machinery was first the robust way it was designed and built.  All metal and tight tolerances.  But the selling point was how it cuts wood.  I have a old chopper that cuts the basswood OK, but I noticed that the cuts were beveled on both sides - the stock and the piece. That meant I had to measure the piece to include sanding to get a 90 degree cut.  The new Slicer cuts perfectly on one side of the blade and a slight bevel on the other.  This makes perfect vertical cuts on the needed piece.

The last nice detail is the rotating cutting plate enableing me to cut a strip at any angle I want.  Like perfect 45% for building edges.

It is not cheap - but on this puppy you get what you paid for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.