earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Route Ahead

After a week spent with the business very much overtaking everything else in my head, meeting with various people, primarily with our clients and colleagues in the Netherlands, still in pursuit of and failing to find anyone who will speak to me sensibly from NatWest (which has now gone beyond the ridiculous to the utterly surreal), my energy levels dipped very low this weekend. 

I needed to do a long run (in training for this event that Forrest and I are running in France next month) but it would have been so easy to given it away today. I somehow managed to get going and run the skyline route from home, along the edge of Ilkley Moor, down into Addingham, and back via Beamsley Beacon and Round Hill. (pictured here in the distance).

I kept the same steady pace going all the way around the 15.5 miles, the legs holding up well. The stretch you can see was as dry as I've ever found it underfoot. I guess it won't be long before it turns back to bog. For me, it was a decent confidence booster for my 35K race. Forrest is doing a 100K race, my route coinciding with the last third of his. We have a little challenge to see who does that segment the fastest. I think I might have him! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.