WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Coming down from Deià

Today we caught the bus to Deià, mostly known (to anglophones at least) as the place where Robert Graves brought up his family. My familiarity was more through reading his daughter Lucia’s book A Woman Unknown.

Stats first: 12.7 km, 260 m climbing, 440 m descent … 6 hours. This included a lunch stop and an Earl Grey tea stop (an unusual thing to find in the Spanish countryside). Verdict: most of the walk was very pretty, but I would not want to relive the last 3 km of descent on higgledy piggledy ankle-breaking stones, glossy with the passage of thousands of boots. This was followed by a trudge on the road down from the lighthouse to the port, relieved by a very welcome ice cream stop. I was very glad to get back and have a shower.

S was on dinner duty, excellent baked sea bream with potatoes and tomatoes, and by dint of doing my commis chef tasks sitting down, I was able to help him. Several glasses of wine may have been consumed, resulting in me getting Wordle in 2. An easier day tomorrow methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.