WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Little and large

A frustrating day. I had to take the red car to the Fiat dealer in Narbonne for a service. When I arrived just before ten, they'd told me it would take about 2 hours, so I thought I had just enough time to walk along the canal into town, have a leisurely coffee, pick up S's newly framed photo, and walk back. 

I got back to the dealership on the stroke of 12. "It'll be ready at 2:30," the receptionist told me brightly. Hmph. I'd already walked 2 km into town and 2 km back, and now I was burdened with a framed picture, so I wasn't going to do another 4 km round trip (public transport in Narbonne is less than ideal). 

However. Ristorante al Porto. I crossed over to the out-of-town shopping centre and had a leisurely and quite good lunch on a pleasantly shady terrace well away from traffic. Then I got my watch battery replaced and had a browse around the books in Cultura. 

Back to the dealer just after 2:30. "It'll be half an hour." I ended up cooling my heels in their "lounge" (a plastic sofa surrounded by cars) for another hour and a quarter. If they'd told me before lunch how long it was going to be, I'd have organised my day quite differently. Still, I got four new tyres at 40% off and a complimentary car wash (it was filthy when I arrived, thanks to the starlings and the volcano).

Finally leaving at nearly four o'clock, I improved my day by a) stopping at Picard for some easy food, and b) driving home via the scenic route on back roads, rather than the motorway

Blip: one of the fake Roman columns commissioned by former mayor Hubert Mouly (statue) -- he was also responsible for the ridiculous amphora roundabout. One thing he was not responsible for is the new museum, NarboVia, which you can see in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.