WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Natural symmetry

I haven't pointed my camera at butterflies much this summer, largely because I haven't seen that many. Here's a painted lady, a relatively rare sight here ... sadly it would not pose on a more attractive background. See here for the delicate tracery on the underside of its wings.

This morning I went to the market in St Laurent, which is a shadow of its already limited former self; there were more stallholders than customers, and there were only half a dozen stallholders. The two vegetable stalls had a handful of vegetables each. I ended up with a spaghetti squash (never tried this before), some Pyrenean cheese, and a basil plant from organic herb grower and my former OU student P.

I actually talked to S on the phone this evening as opposed to Whatsapping each other. They are having a lovely time, and here is today's scenery. Stevenson passed through the forest here fearing an encounter with the Bête de Gévaudan, but there's not much chance of seeing it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.