A day in the life

By Shelling

Swedish Match

The rehearsal this morning went fine, there are things to work on for me but we're not playing for people until tomorrow afternoon. More on that later, when I know how it did come out.

In the evening I went to the theatre together with three friends to see "Ivar", a musical about the Swedish "Match-King", Ivar Kreuger. As the eldest son he tried to save his familys match-factory in Kalmar. He took over the management and succeeded to get investors to put money into the company but most of it was credits and loans and shares and there never was any real capital. So, under the financial crash in the US the bubble burst and many people lost everything. He was found dead, it is still unclear if he shot himself or if he was killed.
The photo shows the opening scene. I've heard the show through the wall when I've worked at the theatre but it's so different to see it of course. I really liked it, there are things I could have opinions about but I'm damaged through my former work. The details did in no way overshadow the great performance of the ensemble and musicians.

The work he started managed to live on somehow and has led to a company now called Swedish-Match.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.