Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yes... but...

Yes, another roe deer..
But you know how much I love them..
and I was fascinated today to see how mottled her coat was - almost as though she had dark spots.  Well that was just my bad eyesight because as soon as I downloaded I could see the two-tone effect was where her lighter winter coat was growing through the summer one.  It was clearly a bit itchy too, she was having a real go nibbling at her flanks.

She was with (at least) one young one on the other side of the river.  I have noticed that as soon as the Wildlife Trust puts cows onto the reedbed the roes move on.  They never mix.

Apart from that today has brought me a very nice (and, even better, helpful) email from the consultant, a haircut and a long afternoon hiding from the rain and drinking coffee with a friend.  So a good day!

Thank you all for your lovely reaction to the robin yesterday - very very kind.

And have a great weekend  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.