Thirty Days Hath...

...September... and this was number 30. Hard to believe it will be October tomorrow! and already we have had frost advisories? Where oh where has the summer gone? I fear it has gone with September...

But at least September went out in style...a bright sunny day with a lovely sunrise...a dash of autumn colour with promises of more to come... and a gentle pastel sunset. 

I was out for the sunrise as I usually am here at the cottage - it is just a few steps away..so why not? It was not as spectacular as yesterday's but it had its charm, and as usual I was hoping for a photo worthy of a blip.

Yesterday, just as I was trying to get the best reflection shot of the morning, a boat drove by, sending its wake to stir up the water and oops there went the reflection I wanted! But that was OK as I had others to choose from. Well,  drat, if the same thing didn't happen again today! But this time, I decided to play with it and did get some interesting images.. one of which is the main. 

One other thing that passed by yesterday while I was out there at sunrise was our local resident beaver. He went swimming by, around the point of rock in the main photo, and then headed into our back bay...but I could not get a photo as I did not have my camera with a zoom lens..  

So this morning I went armed with the right camera...beavers are creatures of habit it seems, as again there he was..swimming by..in the same direction..so I stalked him as he went around the point and as he headed in toward the shore, I tried to get a shot, but he saw me and did that beaver thing of slapping his tail making a huge noise and splash and dove under, never to be seen again....

...until tonight as I was watching the sunset! And there he was.. swimming the other way.. away from our island. I had the camera, got a couple of shots, but in the dimming light and the distance, neither turned out..I played with some editing but the best I could do is in one of the extras. Trust me, that blob is a beaver...

So, tomorrow I will be ready for him...to try again..I figures he works the night shift and will be coming home around sunrise...

It was a day for photographs...I find it is either feast or famine - but today it was a feast. Sun, calm water, reflections, autumn leaves, and lots of forest floor things to shoot. The one extra collage ( now removed) is our back bay in glorious sunshine, and the other is for Knottman2.. ferns and fungi...I know he will like that! Oh yes, and with an autumn leaf thrown in to remind him of autumn in Gatineau Park......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.