Oh Starry Night...

..with moonlight dancing on the water... Oh to have a camera that could capture that!. Alas, I do not  ..so my sunrise photo will have to do! 

It was a lovely calm and misty morning again, but with a sky that was more interesting than the actual rising of the sun; Oh yes, and the same boat drove by and roiled up the water - again!  And drat! .. the beaver did not show up! And I was ready for him this time..But the fish were jumping, so that was neat..

It was also a day when, at last, I did not have to light a fire inside, but still had to wear a hoodie outside..the wind, although not a really strong one, was bitterly cold...you had to be in the sun and out of the wind to be the least bit comfortable sitting out there..no reading upon the dock!

Because I am leaving to go home tomorrow, I spent some time gathering everything of mine that has been here all summer and getting it ready to take home; the cottage will be closed up for the winter as of Thanksgiving weekend.. which is next week!  Hard to believe the season is over already.. I do not take part in the closing - I leave that for the younger generation of our family to do that...so this is the last time I will be here until next spring..

With cottage time no longer something for me to look forward to, I will now concentrate on France in the spring instead..and as two weeks of that trip will be a watercolour vacation in Limoux, I thought I had better get prepared; this afternoon, I signed up for two water-colour workshops in the fall hoping that they will motivate me to get my paints out again - it has been a long, long time...and I need a push to get back into the mood..

My daughter and SIL returned to the cottage today from working on their boat in town, getting it ready to go into winter storage, and as it was my brother's birthday, we had him over for dinner tonight (his cottage is on another island nearby ) so it was a really nice way to spend my last night here...with family.

Wonder if there will be one last blip-worthy sunrise tomorrow..Wouldn't that be the perfect cottage farewell?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.