Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Test Shot

My blipping of late has been somewhat intermittent to say the least. What with community projects, family get togethers and and big birthday holidays (as well as a small dalliance to another less appealing aspect of social media - no prizes for guessing!) there have simply been too many distractions and I am afraid my blipping has suffered.

However, I firmly intend to get back to the straight and narrow and am committed to improving my photography in the coming year. As I was preparing some prints for our annual camera club competition, I was struck by how little I had really learned in the last year. So when MrsB asked for suggestion for the big birthday present I decided to make the jump to a DSLR. Although I have now had it for 5 days I only got round to getting it out the box tonight. I did actually read the start of the instructions, but then impatience got the better of me and I stuck the lens on and went outside to take a few quick blips in the fading light just to make sure it worked!

There seems to be thousands of buttons you can press and I was just happy to play with a manual focus, which my last camera deprived me of. Still couldn't get it as sharp as I wanted but my hands and fingers were all over the place. Will need to read ALL the instructions and practice to get the hang of it. So that's the challenge!

Hope, with a bit of luck, to get back commenting a bit more regularly in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.