ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Crocus Bunch.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5 ISO 400

Back to work today - made better by waking up to the smell of Mum cooking bacon sandwiches! We sat and drank coffee until I couldn't put off going to the office any longer, so I headed out and Mum and Dad got ready to pack up and travel to Banff to see my Aunt. They'll be back through tomorrow afternoon for a walk on the beach and then dinner, leaving for Yorkshire the next morning. I can't believe how quickly the weekend has zipped past.

M arrived back in Aberdeen at 9am, sore and tired after snowboarding all weekend in Hemsedal with the boys. We met for lunch, and I was treated to a gorgeous mushroom and goats' cheese burger at Cafe 52, yum!

Sadly, I discovered today that there's nowhere in Aberdeen that will process 'true' black and white film, such as the Ilford HP5 that I handed in for processing yesterday. I wasn't impressed with Boots this afternoon! I turned up to find that the super-bored guy yesterday had managed to put through a 2-day service, meaning my photos weren't ready. A slightly more (although not by much) helpful assistant said she'd get the photos back to me within the hour, but I got a call while we ate lunch, saying they can't process B&W. The assistant was apologetic but as clueless as me: she said if I'd have brought Ilford XP2 in, she'd have been able to process it - but she didn't know what the difference was! I guessed that XP2 is a C-41 process film despite being B&W, and therefore was tempted to buy XP2 in future so I could get it processed quickly in Boots. However - Instography pointed out that often you get very 'milky', soft-focus shots with XP2 which I would hate, so I think I'd better find a decent postal-processing service and get used to waiting to see my photos. Steep learning curve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.