ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Beach Run.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5 ISO 400

Oh what a steep learning curve film is! Today I discovered that I've been taking photos with the Pentax that never were - despite the counter reading 18 when I collected it, there was no film inside! I thought the way to check was to take an exposure and wind on... But the mechanism still works with no film, apparently. Yes, I feel ridiculous now. And a bit upset that those photos I took will be forever ghost images! Never mind, live and learn. Once I'd actually put some film in the camera, Mum and I had a wander on the beach and I reeled off a whole 24 - today's image is a backblip of course - I had to wait until it was processed before I could scan it and upload here. I'm pleased and cautiously hopeful that I might develop an eye for film photography.

After mine and Mum's walk we caught up with Dad who was snoozing on the sofa! He's entering the Aberdeen Artists Exhibition at the end of this month, so we filled out his entry forms and tied labels to his two entries. I know I'm biased, but I think they're gorgeous.

Later, I made us a roast chicken followed by rhubarb crumble, which was a bit tart but good with lots of Mackies ice cream. Despite full tummies, Mum and I played a game of Scrabble - and Mum beat me by 24 points! One of my favourite films, Juno, came on after we'd finished and we ended up staying up really late to watch it. Can't believe how fast the weekend has gone - I've had an ace time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.