ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Winding.

Mum had wanted to climb Bennachie this weekend, and the forecast was good for this morning, so we headed up after breakfast for a walk. When we arrived, the sun was out, but it was quite breezy, and we were glad of our coats as we hiked higher. We got all the way to the path right under the peak, but when we reached the last 50 metres, the snow from last week was still deep in the gullies and we watched too many people slide up and fall down the last bit to try it ourselves. This photo was taken by Dad, as I had a film-camera-related disaster (as in, I hadn't loaded a film) - so all credit to him!

After our walk, we descended on Touched by Scotland for soup, sandwiches, chips and coffee. Poor Mum and Dad looked shattered! Dad drove us all home and we had a chilled out afternoon on the sofa. I managed to make myself look vaguely presentable for A and S's engagement party at La Stella which was amazing - a really good night with 17 lovely people. I got chatting to S's cousin, who has just moved over from Louisiana and was interested to know what dangerous animals we have here. The only thing I could come up with was a sort-of poisonous snake (the asp) and the Capercaille. He was intrigued by the latter and wanted to know what it was - unfortunately I don't think he took me quite seriously when I told him it was a bird that looked like a turkey - but smaller and more angry!

After a gorgeous meal (and a bill that stretched into four figures - eep), we meandered to the Tippling House and had fancy cocktails (mint infused gin via laughing gas, anyone?) and got to talk to some of the other folk who'd been at the opposite end of the table. A is a lucky lady, she's got a great crowd of friends - even if one of them, who wasn't aware I have personal-space issues, ushered me into the toilet with her and another girl and insisted on re-applying our lipstick for us! A thought it was hilarious; knowing I would completely freak out, but be too polite to say :o)

Home to bed by 1am, but the walk back wasn't pleasant; it's been ages since I've been out on a Saturday night and I had to dodge one too many girls falling over in their ridiculous shoes, and boys shouting and staggering into my path. I'm obviously old before my time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.