Vauxhall Bridge (bridge 30)

No not that one! This one crosses the river Avon a bit more than a mile downstream from my house. I think it’s rather elegant, and I like the curved floor.  It was built in 1900; before that, there had been a ferry, and when there was an accident, and two people drowned, it was decided that a bridge was needed. It was named for the Vauxhall Shipyard on the south side, which closed in 1925. 
I did an enjoyable circular walk, there along the south bank, then back along the north. The coloured houses you see here are similar to the ones in my part of the city, but these are in Clifton Wood. There are many nice cafes on or near this route, but I didn’t stop as I was going out with a friend for a catch up at a cafe later on. It was lovely to see her, she had been preoccupied with the mental health of someone very dear to her for the past couple of months, so there had been a long gap, and it was good to talk it all over together. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.