Mexican Jewelry

A bit otherworldly because it is backlit, but notable for the fact that I was trying to show off my new late birthday/early Christmas/just for the hell of it presents from the farmers' market, but also for the fact that I am wearing a wool turtleneck swearer. It is actually cold and misty today. 

The woman selling the jewelry used to be a counselor at Dana's school and lives not far away. She loves doing what she's doing now, which is traveling to Mexico, getting to know the artists who make the jewelry and pots she buys from them and hearing their stories. She also loves bringing her purchases to the farmers' market, getting to know the people who buy the jewelry and pots and hearing their stories.

'Who could have a better job?' she asked me. 'People love the quality work, and their purchases make them happy, which makes me happy.'

Dana and I were certainly happy with our purchases, in my case the earrings and the bracelet (not the watch) shown in extras.  In her case some wonderful earrings and a ring. When John came looking for me, the necklace, featuring a piece of broken pottery, caught his eye and he bought it for me. He may have had an ulterior motive for getting my Christmas covered early, but I wouldn't be as cynical to suggest that....

I will show up at our dinner party tonight in all my finery. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.