The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Riding Deep in the Water

Sweet Maryanne

(chorus)
Maryanne, sweet Maryanne,
I'll marry you when I can,
Though I am just a fisherman,
And you're the rich man's daughter.

Used to all the finer things,
Golden chains and ruby rings,
All the tastes the good life brings,
Served on a silver platter.

(chorus)

But when my riches I have found,
Out upon the fishing grounds,
I'll set a course homeward bound,
Riding deep in the water.

(chorus)

I'll buy a pretty piece of land,
Ask your father for your hand,
No longer just a fisherman,
And you the rich man's daughter.

Maryanne, sweet Maryanne,
I'll marry you when I can,
Though I am just a fisherman,
Sailing out of Glouscester.



An early morning appointment in Tampa. I drove the interstate on the way down to make time but wandered the back roads on the way back, stopping at Sumnter Landing where I got my blip for the day. That in turn reminded me of The Maryanne, et voila. .... and the adventure continues.

Almost a blip.

Disclaimer: The image was not photoshopped in any way but the tight crop makes the boat look bigger than it is and the waves rougher. A derelict now and anchored near a lakeside restaurant to add "color" for the tourists, it was a small work boat of some sort - probably a two man job. I chose to work with this image because it reminded me of a line from my song -"riding deep in the water".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.