Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Going For A Swim!

That’s the ducks going for a swim - not me!

I went to Henley this morning to get some photos printed. It was a quick visit as I had friends coming over this afternoon. I wasn’t planning on it but I decided to stop for lunch at the marina cafe where I was last week. It wasn’t very sunny but it was warm and I enjoyed sitting outside with my lunch. A delicious toasted sandwich with 3 ‘secret cheeses’. I think they’re secret because they’ll use whatever they have on hand!

I didn’t see any boats go by, but there was a large group of paddle boarders. I wonder how far they go?

I mentioned a few days ago that a friend had passed away unexpectedly. The gathering this afternoon was a small group of friends and also her brother who had come over from Australia where P is from. He came to look after her, assuming that she would come out of the hospital. She passed away while he was in the air and he got the news 24 hours later when he walked into the hospital. He’s heading home tomorrow, so this was our last time to see him, and was a chance for us as her local friends to honour her over afternoon tea. I made sure I had a supply of her favourite cakes!

The photos I had printed were two collages I made of photos I had found over several years. The first one was pictures of P herself, and the second one was mostly pictures of her lovely cottage garden. I gave copies of each one to the friends who came today, a few for her brother to take back to Australia for her mum and sister and a few spares for a couple of friends who couldn’t make it today. We are all missing her a great deal!

As you can see from the first collage, P and I enjoyed many afternoon teas - most of which were outdoors during the many months of covid - even in the run-up to Christmas! A year ago we had afternoon tea for her birthday and I blipped it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.