BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Pentewan Sands

Decided to go the other way today and visit the beach rather than the port.  Pentewan Sands has a special place in my history as we stayed at the campsite there twice when I was a kid.  
Before we went, I must tell you of our neighbor Stan the one legged man.  And no I am not being rude or insensitive, that is how he introduced himself followed by 'No idea why the call me that' with a chuckle.  I had seen Stan running around with only one leg on his mobility scooter - one time down in Mevagissey!  Anyway, when we arrived I had offered my help to him if he needed it - and today he called upon it to help him prepare his van for leaving and then pushing him up a hill on his wheelchair.  Stan thanked me for the help and then in typical humorous fashion said.  'Really appreciate your help Dave, unfortunately my wife is disabled'.  I always find it quite moving meeting people who have everything to complain about, but instead take life in their stride with a smile and a joke!  (Turns out Stan was hit by a car when he was 17 and not only lost his leg to gangrene but also had his arm ripped off - he proudly showed me the scar where they sowed it back on!)
Today was a glorious late summer sunny day here despite the forecast of 80% chance of rain (I think a lot of politicians spent their past lives as weather forecasters).  The rain had already been when we got up and this became very clear a little later.  We decided to walk down there and on 'AllTrails' it showed a much quicker footpath than the 2.5 miles on the sign.  So off we went down a gradually muddier track until we got to a gate where last night's rain had formed a small lake!!  So back up the hill and along the road where we had to avoid speeding cars for while until we slowly picked our way down the very steep hill into Pentewan.
Before we could enjoy the pictured walk on the south facing contrast to our north beach experience, we wanted to use the campsite facilities. Unfortunately they were in the changing rooms of the indoor swimming pool which had just been closed and everybody who was in the pool had now entered the changing rooms all at once.  On top of that, the place was like a sauna and feeling distinctly over-dressed among the semi naked bathers made a quick visit and onto the beach. (Yet another toilet experience this time NOT in France).  
The beach was sheltered, with lapping waves and barely inhabited - I was wishing I had brought my trunks, but then L pointed out that there was probably a very good reason for not a soul being in the sea (they were all in the indoor swimming pool changing rooms).
The patch of water you see behind L in the photo is actually the estuary of a small river that flows into the sea on the beach and when I was a kid, it was a very muddy grey color due to the river being the exhaust pipe for a busy clay works upstream.  What was remarkable about that was the resultant sea color, which I still remember - a bright and astonishing turquoise which is the most impressive sea color I have ever seen.  Sadly for the color though not for the pollution, the sea is now much like any other sea.
We bussed back and sat in the Black Knight consuming our very own cream tea and now not feeling particularly hungry at dinner time.  Extra of yesterday's bull actually standing up and admiring his harem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.