My Year in Pictures

By jenny

I only went and did it!!!

The London Virtual Marathon!!!
I can't quite believe it but do it I did!!!



Long write up below to remind me of the journey to today!!!
For whatever reason I thought it'd be a good idea to do a marathon as we went into 2022 - despite not having run for well over 12 years!
So I started C25K mid March (I took a while to get going!) and did 1 week. Then got crackles on my lungs .... week 2 was then end April!
Started week 1 of marathon training mid June (the last week of C25K) and really didn't know how it'd go! However I kept going and did my last long run of 20 miles mid Sept.
Then out of the blue, 4 days later I got serious problems with my shin and thigh and I really didn't think today was going to happen ... I could barely walk ....
But lots of rest, ice and stretching for the last 2 and a bit weeks meant I felt able to go for it!!!
I had an amazing support crew - not least the fabulous Mandy who did the 2nd half with me and kept on encouraging me to just keep putting one foot in front of the other - and at a much faster pace than I would have done on my own!
Unfortunately problems with my knee (a new issue!) meant we had to completely walk from 18-24.5 miles but the last 1.5 miles I managed to run again! 
It was fabulous having not only Mandy, but Karen and Ad (and two dogs!) running with me for the last bit, with James at the finish line cheering me on!
What a day!
Goodness only knows how I'll feel tomorrow!
Extra: The ice cream with 2 miles to go was most refreshing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.