Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Playing on the Beach

To myself I am only a child playing on the beach, while vast oceans of truth lie undiscovered before me - Isaac Newton

Every summer of my childhood and teenage years was spent at the beach, Raumati South, just north of Wellington. In a flash I can conjure up memories of diving under dumping waves, swimming out as far as I could and back again, and going out in the boat with my father, fishing at Kapiti Island. The sound of the gulls and the waves, the smell of the tide and the seaweed, and the warmth of the summer sun, are such great memories. No wonder I'm happy at the beach now.

And I'm still playing on the beach! Playing with my camera at the beach is such a treat! (I think the guy at the camera shop would have a fit if he knew what lens I had on my camera today, down near the salt and sand.) It has to be one of my life's best pleasures. One of the truths that was waiting in the future for me, back in my early years, was that the potential for creativity that lies within us, is a key to peace and joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.