At Donna's

It is very late and I am tired so this will be brief. My good friend Helen picked me up at 11:30 and we headed off to pick up Eve and go to our friend Donna's house. It was our book club meeting. Seven of us, the Palette Princesses, meet once a month to discuss a book that most of us have read. Today I was the one who had not read it. Much too busy lately. We are all painters and we love to have lunch together and talk about books, life, friends, family, husbands, whatever we feel like. We all love each other and provide an ear and a heart to each other.

Donna lives in a beautiful house right next to Mud Bay. Her house is surrounded with amazing gardens. She has planters on all the decks and flower beds all around. Just as you step down the front steps, close to the path, is this beautiful plant. I don't know its name. I do know that when it gets wet, drops settle in little beads all around the edges of the leaves. I saw a similar plant when I visited friends in the Netherlands. In choosing which of the many photos I took, I picked this one because I find those tiny water drops so very beautiful. If you look at the larger version, you can see that there are a whole bunch of even smaller drops adhering to the tiny hairs on the leaves' edges. So beautiful.

After the meeting I went to Helen's house to photograph eight of her paintings. She is entering some in two different shows and needed photographs for the entries. Then when I arrived home I found that my brother Dave had called and invited us to dinner with him and some mutual friends. So we drove down to Anacortes and had a great evening with friends.

Now it is time to slip off to bed. I may not have time to do much commenting tonight. Hopefully I can catch up tomorrow though I do have Helen's paintings photographs, and some of Trish's and Elaine's paintings to work on so I may not. Have a great weekend folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.