Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

NEW

You may have heard of the film "The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain" made in 1995 and starring Hugh Grant.

Well, I'm "The Lady Who Went Out to Buy a Saucepan and Came Back with a Dining Table"!!

Went into Debenhams last week to buy a new small saucepan, but saw this beautiful solid oak dining room table and it just took my eye - mainly because it was at a knock-down price - and if you don't believe me - originally £580 (US $902) reduced to £290 (US $451) and then further reduced to £170 (US $264). Now correct me if I'm wrong, but that is surely a bargain, isn't it?

Mr HCB wasn't with me, as he is a typical Englishman and does not like shopping, but because of the marvels of technology, I took a photograph of the table, sent it to him by email, rang him and told him to pick up his email and job almost done! He looked and said if I liked it, then I should get it - so I did!

Was dealt with very efficiently by Rosa, who arranged for it to be delivered on 1st May and at 9.30 a.m. Steve and Steve arrived on our doorstep with the table. Only trouble was the legs had to be removed because it was just a tad too wide to go through the doors - but that was a minor detail for them and before long the NEW table was taking pride of place in our dining room.

I decided to write to the Store Manager to tell him how pleased I was with the service I had received, took the letter in and he was delighted - said not many people bother to write, but as I said, we are quick enough to criticise and I believe we should also give praise when it is due - and it certainly was in this case.

I guess the moral of this story is "Never let your wife go shopping for something simple, always go with her" - and by the way, I did buy a new saucepan and also treated myself to a new, diddy pan to fry my eggs!

Enjoy this song Right, Said Fred - by Bernard Cribbins - this particular version is great!

Have a great weekend, fellow blippers, and for those who work, enjoy your Monday lie-in!

P.S. FOR SALE - one drop leaf, fold down, oval teak table!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.