St Magnus autumn

Inkcaps (I think) on the law in front of the cathedral just emphasise the year's turning. The grass had grown a little when we returned after a couple of weeks away, but it's slowed down enormously and plants are readying themselves for the darker days to come. 

I was doing a stint in a charity shop this morning, watching the sorting out of donations whilst manning the till. Anything to do with Hallowe'en was instantly put out, as were coats, warm jerseys, boots -  more seasonal change as the skimpy tops were put away for summer (I'm glad to report that the Christmas bits were put aside for now!).

I don't mind the change; each season has its own benefits. My only concern is the horrid weather forecast and when on earth we are going to be able to put the outdoors to bed. Still a 'meadow' to mow and rake, the veg garden to go through, the garden to put to bed and drive to weed. 

No chance of sitting being idle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.