RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Straw poll

My super-sealed draught-proof house will require super-sealed draught-proof windows and doors. Over the last two years the architect has suggested four different suppliers and I went to visit one in Milton Keynes 16 months ago. I'm not sure why they've dropped off the radar. I never saw a full quote so maybe it's cost. 

Of the two in the running most recently, one offered aluminium windows and the other wood. Wood is more expensive to buy and to maintain but it is better thermally and has a lower carbon footprint than aluminium. I am making painful carbon compromises all the time in order to cut costs but I don't think I can compromise on wood for windows and doors. 

Four days ago I went to Ecovia's showrooms in London to look at wooden windows and doors and to feel how they opened and closed. The decision was easy for everything except the front door. Their front doors on offer are either modern or unpleasantly pastiche and I need to decide what will work with my 1867 frontage. So today, on Tivoli's recommendation, I went to take photos of local doors.

Thought experiment: if you lived in a Victorian terrace, which of these designs (ignore the colour) would you most like or hate to see on your house or next door, bearing in mind that it will be a simplified reproduction? What do you think of what's been done bottom right?

You can just number them in order 1-14 or use the house numbers which are:
top left to right:           1   28   30       20    22  24  120
bottom left to right: 45   46   200   198   196    9      3   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.