Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Nostalgia or pragmatism? Maybe both

I’ve had a couple more hours in the loft today, listening to the World Service and rummaging through collapsing boxes of toys and baby clothes, faded paperbacks, magazines, incomplete tea sets and goodness knows how many once-essential collections of paper. I’m deciding which few baby clothes to keep for the day a grandchild appears - I mean, c’mon kids, how much longer must I wait?!!!

The recycling bin is full, the car is ready for another trip to the tip and I can finally see a way to create some order up there. Being a single parent for many years I never had time to deal with our stuff as it was finished with; it all got shunted ‘upstairs’ so that at least it was out of the way. However, I'm very much in chucking away/moving on mode now (thanks to my mum’s move I guess). It feels like progress, and it keeps me away from the ridiculous state we’ve been propelled into by the latest bunch of talentless fools who’ve somehow ended up “running” this country. Running it into the ground that is…
I’ve tagged Tiny Tuesday as there are some really little baby garments on the line. My mind boggles at how I ever had a human that small to care for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.