Farmer's Bridge Locks

Birmingham today for another of Len's treatments. I can't say I was really wanting to walk far but I've been fascinated by spotting the canals over the bridges from the road. So today I went in search of them. I'm discovering slowly how they all link up. This stretch of the Birmingham Fazeley canal has several locks with holding pools next to them.

This stretch of water used to be so busy that gas lights were installed so that the boats could be moved continuously over 24 hours.

I walked along the tow path as far as the 'roundabout' where I had a delicious burger in Ed's Easy Diner. From my table I could spot the ICC where this year's Tory Party conference was being held. Even the canal had been blocked off, so no progress to Gas Street Basin. I chatted to two young policeman in a van marked Heddlu. Yes, they'd been brought in from Wales and were looking forward to going home. It was a pity that they were parked in the taxi rank that I had used last time. In the end, I had to go into Jury's Inn and ask them to phone for a taxi for me.

Outside the Canal and River Trust house, I met a faith healer called Ian who asked to heal me in the name of Jesus as he could see I was having trouble walking. Well, why not if it. made him feel better. So he said a prayer and we went on our respective ways. He seemed to think that results would be instantaneous. I was of the opinion that faith has to be present in both parties!

I did come across Brindley Place, a rather upmarket venue for enjoying coffee in the likes of Costa, Caffè Nero and Pret A Manger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.