suehutton

By suehutton

Bee on Daisy

I finally embarked on a walk I've promised myself much of the summer. Driving over the bridge on the motorway roundabout, I'd noticed pink flowers growing in the verges along with plantain. Well, I didn't walk but Basil did. Cecily took us up there.

Once there I realised that there were a lot of pink flowers which I would identify as mallow, see some in the extras. A few daisies remain which are attractive to bees who are still out in October. I've seen very few honeybees this summer.

Masses of conkers and acorns under the relevant trees. See extra.

I Zoomed in on an address by the new CEO of the Royal Photographic Society who was announcing some major changes to the Licenciate Distinction with which I broadly agree. 70% of those applying for the 'L' choose digital presentations for their panels. If the society wants to encourage more membership then presumably digital, and phone photography, is the way to go, especially for overseas members who would find sending prints difficult and costly. The principles of what makes a good photograph does not differ between digital and print, in my view. But the vast majority of the audience, who would already have their distinctions, chose to disagree. The CEO was beginning to look rather frustrated by the end of the meeting.

Personally, I chose digital when I did my 'L' in 2013. I hadn't  started printing my own photos by that stage having to rely on commercial firms, which isn't ideal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.