Sunday afternoon

It was a beautiful early autumn day,, mild and golden, and after lunch I dragged J out for a walk. She didn't protest too much, especially when I proposed looking for inspiration for her next needle felt picture, and she directed me to take some potentially useful reference photos. We didn't go far, just along the road to the edge of the village proper, then down Vicarage Lane, which curves round past the playground and runs for a short distance along the bottom of the valley before it becomes Lickpot Hill and climbs up to the top of the Downs. The start of the hill is our turning point, as it's too steep and narrow to push J up comfortably or safely - a car could not pass her wheelchair, and the steep banks at either side offer no refuge. However, a wide field gateway at the bottom of the hill is always a good place to pause for her chocolate and my apple.

The colourful background to the seed heads is a tree with bright autumn leaves and intensely red berries, backlit by low sun. I'm sure I looked it up last year, but I can't remember what it is. I could barely see what I was framing, but was not expecting the intense colour range in the bokeh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.