... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Tank Loves Strawberries

I do not know how strawberry juice ended up on his shell; I'll just say that his eating style could best be described as "vigorous". This is one of the few photos that didn't feature motion blur...

I've blipped our tortoise Tank before, but I can't stress enough how unexpected he is: he is surprisingly fast, and surprisingly violent aggressive. Tank's metabolic rate varies with the temperature (since he is ectothermic, or "cold blooded"), and since it is warm and sunny today, he moves quickly. It also seems to stoke the furnace of his aggression, and he was desperate to savage my foot (by head butting and biting); we think he perceives feet as invading tortoises... Anyway, my mother produced a strawberry in a bid to distract him and to slow him down (temporarily): he can't resist strawberries...

A few people have asked why the insurance are being so slow; I believe it is because they have to work out how much to contribute to a replacement for my stolen D200. There is currently no direct replacement in production (D400?) so it is a case of working out how much they are willing to contribute to a satisfactory replacement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.