Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sulphur Tuft

After breakfast I got a notion to clear out the pantry - we have a large walk in pantry in our kitchen and I keep it well stocked, as when the boys are at home I like to have all sorts of items on hand so we can cook whatever we want to. However now that they are not at home much I don't need many of these store cupboard items, and so much of it was way out of date so I spent over an hour checking all the dates and clearing out stuff that was well beyond the sell by date. I filled four large garbage bags which is an awful waste. Lately I only buy as I need something which is a much better idea. I have noticed that Waitrose ( and I am sure all the other supermarkets) are no longer displaying sell by dates on many products, unless it is something that you can get ill if you eat it after its sell by date, in line with the new government policy.

I enjoyed a good walk with Xena this morning, it was sunny and about 19C. I cannot help taking more photos of fungi, there are so many different species around at the moment. Then after lunch as it was still so sunny and warm I took Xena for another long walk with more fungi foraging. I believe this is Sulphur Tuft and it was really tiny, growing on a fallen tree log. Ideally you need a tripod as the undergrowth where fungi grows in not bright, so the ISO's have to be cranked right up, but I am having fun placing my camera on the ground and using the flip up screen to see the subject I am photographing. I am even doing focus stacked images this way, as I cannot take a tripod on a dog walk.

Gavin has just got back from Leeds and is now working in his study. We have a horrible leak in the boiler room which started as a spot and has got larger and larger, I think it is coming from a shower upstairs and it just looks like a messy and expensive job to get repaired. I have contacted the plumber and he will come next week. We also have a problem with the home automation system at the moment, but that contractor is ignoring our calls as he is too busy. There is always something needing attention at the house, it drives me mad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.